User Management Introduction
All Uniphore product users are created and managed using Administration Platform . This section provides information to help you understand the various features involved in user management and guides you through the key processes. It is especially useful for users with the Account Administrator role.
This guide contains the following articles and information:
Basics - An introduction to the pages used to manage users, what they look like, and what actions each page allows you to do.
System Components and Considerations - Details on how users work, how they are managed, and how access permissions are determined.
Initial User Onboarding - Instructional details on how to start onboarding your users, their roles, and your user groups using either, AD sync. SCIM Sync, SAML Authentication, or Import via CSV.
Manage Users - Instructional details on how to add users (separate from your initial onboarding), update users, remove user access, reset user passwords, and information on security lockouts.
Organization Hierarchy - How your user structure is presented and managed.
Roles - Details on each of the Roles in the platform, and how they are used and managed to determine access permissions for your users.
Important
Some Uniphore products have specific user configuration activities, for example, the ability to provide more granular access permissions for an application. Additionally, not all products make use of all of the Roles available on the Platform.
For complete details about each product's capabilities, see the relevant section below:
Managing Users - FAQs
The following are answers to some common questions about managing users, together with links to related step-by-step activities for Administrators.
A: Four initial onboarding options are available: AD Sync, SCIM Sync, or SAML Authentication if you have an external directory to sync with, and Import via CSV if not. For more information on your initial onboarding, click here.
A: The steps to sync your users with your directory depend on which method of sync you want to set up. For information on setting up SCIM sync, click here. For information on setting up AD sync, click here. For information on setting up SAML Authentication, click here. Information on updating your sync settings is covered in the linked articles as well.
A: Your sync logs are available on the Users & Accounts > Home page.
A: To add a single user, go to Administration > Users & Accounts > Users, and click Add User. Additionally, you can use Import Users to create users in bulk. Your system may be set up to sync users from an External Directory, users are automatically created in Administration Platform when the system syncs or when they first log in using SAML. Click here for more information.
A: To deactivate or delete a user, go to Administration > Users & Accounts > Users >, find the relevant user using the Search bar, click the Ellipsis menu to the right of the user, and click either Deactivate User or Delete User, whichever you need. Your system may be set up to sync users from an External Directory. If the user is still in the syncing directory location, the user are automatically re-added to Administration Platform when the system syncs, or when they next log in if using SAML Authentication. Click here for more information.
A: To reset a user's password, you need to send a reset password link to the user's email, go to Administration > Users & Accounts > Users > find the relevant user using the Search bar, click the Ellipsis menu to the right of the user, and click Send Reset Password Link. Click here for more information. If using SAML Authentication, your user's password is managed by your IDP. Users click Continue with SAML when logging in, which directs them to their SAML login.
A: To update a user's details (name, email, etc), go to Administration > Users & Accounts > Users > find the relevant user using the Search bar, click the user's name to open their details, make any changes, and click Update User. Your system may be set up to sync users from an External Directory. Changes made in your directory are replicated in Administration Platform when the system syncs, or when the impacted user next logs in if SAML Authentication is configured. Click here for more information.
A: To update a user's permissions, you need to edit their Roles, go to Administration > Users & Accounts > Users > find the relevant user using the Search bar, click the user's name to open their details, make any changes under Roles, and click Update User. Click here for more information. Your system may be set up to sync users from an External Directory, in which case their permissions are likely determined by your sync configuration. For more information on editing your sync settings, find the section relevant to your sync method here.
A: Administration Platform provides out-of-the-box System Roles to help you delegate access permissions across your users. For detailed information on each of the available Roles, click here.
A: Administration Platform provides a robust account hierarchy system to accurately represent the structure of your organization. Each Node in the Organization Hierarchy page represents a user group in the system. Go to Administration > Users & Accounts > Organization Hierarchy. Your system may be set up to sync Users / Groups from an External Directory; changes made in your directory are replicated in Administration Platform when the system syncs. Click here for more information.
A: To add a user to a Group, you need to map a user to a Node in Organization Hierarchy. Go to Administration > Users & Accounts > Organization Hierarchy, find and select the Group/Node in the tree, click the Ellipsis menu to the right of the Node and select Map User, now find and select the user in the list (users already mapped to a Node do not appear in the list), then click Map User.
Your system may be set up to sync Users / Groups from an External Directory. Changes made in your directory are replicated in Administration Platform when the system syncs. Click here for more information.
A: To remove a user from a Group, you need to remove a user from a Node in Organization Hierarchy, go to Administration > Users & Accounts > Organization Hierarchy, find and select the user in the tree, click the Ellipsis menu to the right of the user and select Delete Node, you then need to confirm, click Yes, delete node.
Your system may be set up to sync Users / Groups from an External Directory, changes made in the your directory are replicated in Administration Platform when the system syncs. After you remove the user from the Group in Organization Hierarchy, if the user is still in the Group in your external directory when the system syncs, the user are re-added to the Group. Click here for more information.
A: When a user is locked out due to multiple (5) failed login attempts, their password must be reset. Users can trigger a reset password link by clicking Forgot Password? on the login page. Additionally, users with the Account Administrator Role can send reset password links to locked-out Users. Go to Administration > Users & Accounts > Users, find the user using the Search bar, click the Ellipsis menu to the right of the user, and click Send Reset Password Link. Click here for more information.
Once the user receives the password reset link via email, they can follow the link to reset their password.