Skip to main content

Uniphore Help Center Portal

Manage Users
Add Users

Users in Administration Platform may be synced with your external directory. Adding a user to your external directory in a synced location replicates in your Administration Platform account. The platform also supports the ability to add users manually, either one user at a time (manually), or multiple users at a time (using a CSV import).

Important

If sync is set up, then it does not override or update your manually added users. Avoid manually creating users in Administration Platform when sync is enabled.

The access and permissions a user has are initially set when the user is created. If syncing is set up then user permissions are automatically set and updated when the system syncs. For manually added users, their roles can be updated by an Account Administrator whenever required. For information on how to make changes to existing users, including their access and permissions, click here.

Which group your users are part of in the organization hierarchy is configured manually for manually added users and is automatic for synced users. For more information on managing the Organization Hierarchy, click here.

Note

Specific applications have additional configuration available to provide more granular access permissions in the applications, and not all applications make use of all of the Roles available on the Platform. Please see relevant application topics for further details:

Update Users

Note

Specific applications provide additional methods to provide granular access permissions, this is in addition to Roles. Please see relevant application topics for further detail:

Deactivate or Delete Users

All Administration Platform  users can be reviewed in Administration > Users & Accounts > Users. This provides for direct "account intervention" if needed, such as "forced" account removal.

Note

After you delete a user, if you still have the external user active in your External Directory Services and in a syncing location, the user account is recreated when the system syncs with your directory. Ensure that the user is removed from the synced directory location to avoid the user being recreated in Administration Platform .

To Deactivate, Activate, or Delete Administration Platform  User Accounts:
  1. Log in to Administration Platform  as an Account Administrator and go to Administration > Users & Accounts in the side menu and click into the Users tab.

  2. A summary of all users is shown in the Users list. Simply click an individual user's name to review their details. Use the columns and search box to sort and search the list as needed.

  3. If needed, you can remove Deactivate or Delete users, either:

    • Select one or more users in the list using the check boxes on the left and click Bulk actions to make changes to all selected users. The following options are available:

      Delete_user_100226.png
    • Click the Ellipsis Icon_ThreeDotsMenu.png menu to the right of a user and select Deactivate User to block the user from accessing the system, or select Delete User to permanently remove the individual user from the system.

      Deactivating users takes effect immediately. To reactivate a user, simply select the deactivated user/s, click the Ellipsis Icon_ThreeDotsMenu.png menu, and click Activate User.

      activate_user_100226.png

      After clicking Delete User, a confirmation box is displayed asking you to confirm that you want to delete the user.

    Warning

    Deleting a user is an irreversible action.

User Passwords

Note

If you need to remove a user's access, changing their password is not a suitable action. Instead, see Deactivate or Delete Users to either Deactivate or Delete the user.

Resetting a user's password is straightforward. Users with the Account Administrator Role can send reset password links to user email addresses (instructions below), however, this is likely infrequent. Users can click Forgot Password? on the login page, where they can enter their email address to receive a reset password link without an Administrator present.

To Reset a User's Password:
  1. Go to Administration> Users & Accounts > Users.

  2. Using the Search bar, search for the user who needs their password reset.

  3. Click the Ellipsis Icon_ThreeDotsMenu.png menu to the right of the user, and click Send Reset Password Link. As you would expect, the system then sends an email to the user with a link to reset their password.

    NGUCUserOptions.jpg

Once the user receives the reset password link via email, they can follow the link to reset their password.

Security Lockouts

Administration Platform uses a precautionary lockout mechanism to protect user accounts from unauthorized access.

Note

This system does not impact users who log in using SAML Authentication, as login authentication is managed using your IDP when SAML is configured.

User Lockout Scenario and Remedy

When a user attempts to access the Administration Platform and associated applications (Communication Recording Agent, Conversation Insights Agent, etc.), if the number of login attempts exceeds the login attempt limit (5), access becomes locked, and the user is unable to log in without first resetting their password.

The following indicators occur on account lockout:

  • When attempting to log in, the user sees the following message: "Your account has been blocked after multiple consecutive login attempts".

  • An email is sent to the blocked user with the subject "Account blocked".

account_blocked_100226.png
Unlocking a User Account

As mentioned above, when a user is locked out due to multiple (5) failed login attempts, their password must be reset. Users can trigger a reset password link by clicking Forgot Password? on the login page.

Users with the Account Administrator Role can also send reset password links to locked-out users, go to Administration > Users & Admin > Users, find the user using the Search bar, click the Ellipsis Icon_ThreeDotsMenu.png menu to the right of the user, and click Send Reset Password Link. Once the user receives the reset password link via email, they can follow the link to reset their password.

NGUCUserOptions.jpg